top of page

Reflection #4: Being a Bookstagrammer in the Northern Marianas Islands (an honest opinion)

Date: Aug. 8, 2022


If you look at the photo on the right, living in the Northern Marianas Islands would seem like a surreal paradise. We are blessed with clear blue skies, translucent waters, fresh breezes that rejuvenate the mind, and most importantly, genuine and utter peace. All these aspects that we can get within an archipelago of islands are something I will be grateful for from the bottom of my heart. But in terms of being an avid reader and writer, the societal aspects of this region can have their downsides.
Being an aspiring bookstagrammer and blogger has been one of the best decisions I have made for my happiness. And despite the slow progress for my platforms, I have never been happier with doing something I have loved for years. But to evolve further, one needs resources that are vast and accessible. And when it comes to books, the CNMI falls relatively short of that efficiency. Located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, this small region is the last place you should rely on when looking for the most updated release. And being the sole bookstagrammer in this place (that I know so far), it becomes a naïve yet significant responsibility for me to advocate for local sources in the book industry.

One of Each: Bestseller Bookstore and Public Libraries

I remember scrolling through various pictures of bookstores from around the world, and would marvel at the variety of books charmingly stacked on bookshelves as tall as cathedral doors. Some were neatly stacked in therapeutical uniformity, while some were cramped in the possible spaces its owner could think of. I couldn’t help but sigh, daydreaming of moments where I was the girl in the bookstore, on my pretty floral blouse and denim jeans, pacing through the endless rows of literary creativity bounded in colorful paperbacks and hardbacks. And you might wonder why I would bear this mindset, for I will explain the current conditions of our resources.


The CNMI has only one bookstore. Yes. Just one. Among 14 islands, three islands or cities contain livelier signs of civilization: Saipan, Tinian, and Rota. The town where I reside, Saipan, is home to a bookstore that only exists in the entire region. And as years passed, I watched it slowly decrease in size and stock. Two months ago, when I decided to create this blog, I visited the bookstore, hoping to purchase some resources. And when I entered the room, I was disheartened by how nearly empty the shelves appeared. The classic section was merely 2 feet wide; the other shelves contained one book with small space between them, each book series incomplete with its volumes, and the children section abundant in stock, remaining untouched and collecting dust. It’s reasonable to say that it was every reader’s nightmare. Although e-books and online shopping are suitable alternatives, they do not do any good in supporting local bookstores. Without people buying books, there won’t be any new supplies provided—a basic business principle of supply and demand.
As for the libraries, each of the three islands has one public library provided and supported by the local government. I have never been to the beautiful parts of Tinian, but I would say that Rota and Saipan’s libraries have abundant sources of reading materials. However, unlike most bookstores worldwide, they do not have the most trending releases you see on social media. It is not entirely a negative aspect, though, since I can find underrated novels that could garner attention. Although there are no shortages in resources within this department, the target audience seems to fall more into one age range. Thus, it creates a stereotypical notion about books, which I will further elaborate on in the next section.

“Books are just for school!



Back in my younger years of existence, I have always been blessed to have a small group of best friends that enjoyed the peaceful company of reading books together. I vividly remember those fond memories of us sitting by the bench near our first class, reading side by side in mutual silence while we wait for the bell to ring. I felt comfortable in that bubble, naïve about the idea I could easily find other people like them after high school. Oh, how I was immensely wrong.
Although I love solitude, I sometimes feel disheartened that many people my age don’t advocate for reading. I may be wrong, and there could be small reading clubs or people just reading at home. But if there were such people, why don’t I see our tiny bookstore expanding its facility? Why do I still see adults only going to the bookstore to follow their kids without getting one for themselves? And why don’t I know about these reading clubs, where it seems like an underground organization I privately meet with some stranger on a trench coat for some juicy intel? Of course, it is never wrong for reading to be a hobby or something to destress. But it is entirely more than just something you do in school.
I have always loved reading at cafés, but my introverted personality would always feel self-conscious because I would be the only person reading a book. My social anxiety would create this unnecessary paranoia of people scrutinizing me and questioning my purpose in doing something that could be done at home. It becomes this battle against my happiness and perturbation, all because I’m the only person who reads in public. But it narrows down to what I deeply want people to perceive in avid readers and writers like me. How reading shouldn’t be considered a rarity— an action “only smart people do.”

My Role as a Bookstagrammer


With such scarcity in resources and engagement, it deems impossible for my brand as a bookstagrammer and blogger to thrive. Knowing that a small island with rare acknowledgment for reading makes it insurmountable to make a huge difference. But expecting to reach that goal overnight is nescient of me as well. I feel there is always a way for the reading community to flourish on this island, but it might require methods with little progress. I wish not to be featured in a newspaper or be a local sensation, but I do want to spread positivity and encouragement for reading, as much as this community has done the same for me.
I would simply use my platform to share that awareness and positivity of the book community, creating a space to inspire this environment. Although it may target other people worldwide, this exposure for myself and the region could create a ripple effect on our bookshops and libraries through the influential aspect of bookstagramming. According to an article by Charlotte Rutland, she shares how the Bookstagram or Booktok community has significantly impacted publishing companies pertaining to marketing strategies and sales (2020). Since the height of the pandemic, a “31% increase in book-related content” through various social media platforms pushed a great deal of demand for reading. It also revived a community that advocates for “creating a positive outlook and encouraging their followers to read more during these difficult times” (Rutland 2020). With such influence globally, it seems disheartening for the Northern Marianas to fall behind this evolving trend. However, through my simple visits to the bookstore and consistent usage of public libraries, I feel that it could make somewhat of a difference. It would certainly be something that will not cause outright attention, but its slow progress will create a beneficial impact.

Ending Note

I may sound like pursuing a consequential movement and revolving a career out of this mission, which is partially untrue. I still have personal ambitions that I want for my future. But I have vowed in my life-long passion for literature, especially the rewarding moments it has given me most of my life. It has become a duty I will hold for a lifetime, which is something I wouldn’t mind leaving a mark on this world. The Northern Marianas may not realize the value of literature in the same way as I do, but I have never lost hope in a future where young people would read in cafes with inner contentment. Our region’s impression of books nowadays is adequate, with a sole target audience of children and providing programs to motivate their love for learning. But we can always do better, encouraging life-long learning with reading for all age groups, not just kids. Because learning does not stop in school. It will always be something we often encounter in our lives, and why not include a printed object that embraces that desire for knowledge? These concepts that I mostly ponder will remain unanswered for now. But until then, I’ll continue visiting my lovely café, with my intrusive anxiety and love for reading, and simply enjoy a book in public. Plainly because I can.


Works Cited:

Rutland, Charlotte. “The Rise and Influence of Bookstagram.” Medium, Medium, 12 Nov. 2020, https://crutland1.medium.com/the-rise-and-influence-of-bookstagram-f32321780926. Acessed 10 Aug. 2022.

5 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page